Notes about the codification

The constitution of the MSAR, on 20.12.1999, has introduced some changes in Macao’s philately, specifically in the issuing Postal Administration’s designation and in the identification code of stamps and souvenir sheets.


In the first case, the designation “República Portuguesa” was replaced by “Macau, China”, on the second case, the issue “Macau Retrospective”, in 19.12.1999, marked the ending of the codification series in use, with the last codes S193(4/1), S193(4/2), S193(4/3) and S193(4/4), for stamps and S194(1/1), for the Souvenir Sheet.


By terminating this series, it offered an opportunity to create new series and codes, not only for stamps and souvenir sheets, but also to other philatelic products, like first day covers, booklets, information brochures, commemorative envelopes, postcards, etc., and also to all the postmarks associated with new issues, commemorative cancellation services and exhibitions.


All the new series have started with the number 001 and are sequential.


The decision by Macao Post and Telecommunications of creating a code system, presented here, had the following two objectives:
  • Decrease the possibility of falsification of the coded products.
  • Offer the collectors an easy and fast possibility of, at any time, knowing if their philatelic collections have been complete or not.

As far as the first objective is concerned, to decrease the falsification worldwide, the Universal Postal Union, in conjunction with the World Association for the Development of Philately (WADP), has also created a worldwide numbering system (WNS), to which the Macao Post has joined after January 1st, 2002, being the approved code represented by MO xxx yy, in which MO represents the Macao Postal Administration, xxx represents the numerical sequence started by 001 and yy represents the year of the issue.


The codes printed on the Macao Post and Telecommunications' philatelic products are generally composed by a literal part (S, B, … etc) identifying the product, and by a numeric sequence (xxx = 001, 002, 003, etc.) identifying the order.


As for stamps and souvenir sheets, there is also an additional indication (y/z), in which the variable “y” shows the number of stamps in the series of that issue, and the variable “z” showing in the series of stamps, that specific stamp (See the following example).


THE CODES USED ARE AS FOLLOWS
Issues (Stamps) S xxx(y/z)
Souvenir Sheets B xxx(y/z)
First Day Cover, w/stamps ENA xxx
First Day Cover, w/Souvenir Sheets ENB xxx
Commemorative envelopes issued by Macao Post and Telecommunications Bureau ENC xxx
Commemorative envelopes issued by other entities ENX xxx
Information Brochures PGL xxx
Booklets with stamps BLK–S xxx(y/z)
Booklets with Souvenir Sheets BLK–B xxx(y/z)
Postcards of new issue BPL xxx
Commemorative Postcards issued by Macao Post and Telecommunications Bureau BPC xxx
Commemorative Postcards issued by other entities BPX xxx
New issue, Commemorative or Exhibition Postmarks C xxx

In order for collectors and readers to understand better the use and meaning of the codes, here are some examples:


MACAO POST AND TELECOMMUNICATIONS’ CODES
Code S001(6/2): Issue number Two hundred sixteenth (216), after the constitution of the MSAR, named “Chinese Opera – Farewell My Concubine”, comprised of four (4) stamps, stamp number one (1) of the series.
Code B192 – One hundred ninety-second Souvenir Sheet (192), produced after the constitution of the MSAR, belonging to the issue named “Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge”.
Code ENA222 – Two hundred twenty-second First Day Cover with stamp (222), produced after the constitution of the MSAR, belonging to the issue named “150th Anniversary of the Birth of Camilo Pessanha”.
Code ENB196 – One hundred ninety-sixty First Day Cover with souvenir sheet (196), produced after the constitution of the MSAR, belonging to the issue named “Classic Fables and Tales”.
Code PGL230 – Two hundred thirtieth Information Brochure (230), produced after the constitution of the MSAR, belonging to the issue named “Chinese White Dolphin”.
Code BPL220 – Two hundred twentieth Postcard (220), produced after the constitution of the MSAR, belonging to the issue named “Lotus Flower”, titled “Torch”.
Code C708 – Seven hundred eighth Postmark (708), produced after the constitution of the MSAR, belonging to the issue named “Birdsongs and Spring Flowers”.

UPU / WADP CODES
Code MO007.17 – Seventh Stamp, internationally registered by the Macao Postal Administration in the Universal Postal Union / World Association for the Development of Philately in the year of 2017, belonging to the first stamp of the issue named “Macao: Back to Common Roots”.
Code MO010.18 – Tenth Stamp, internationally registered by the Macao Postal Administration in the Universal Postal Union / World Association for the Development of Philately in the year of 2018, belonging to the souvenir sheet of the issue named “Macao 2018 – 35th Asian International Stamp Exhibition (I)”.

With the objective of promoting the stamp culture as well as to let the collectors over the world knows about Macao through the wonderful Macao stamps, Macao Post and Telecommunications will continue to develop the stamps and philatelic products from various aspects such as themes, design, and printing technique.

english português
(function() { var cx = '012725882541276408232:mc8tqqj2kqq'; var gcse = document.createElement('script'); gcse.type = 'text/javascript'; gcse.async = true; gcse.src = 'https://cse.google.com/cse.js?cx=' + cx; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(gcse, s); })();

編號註釋

澳門特別行政區於一九九九年十二月二十日的成立為澳門集郵引入了某些變更,特別是郵票發行當局的名稱以及郵票和小型張的識別編號。


首先,“葡萄牙共和國”的名稱即被“中國澳門”所取代;緊接著,舊編號系列在一九九九年十二月十九日發行了郵品 《澳門回顧》之後宣告終結,有關的最後幾個郵票編號分別為: S193(4/1)、S193(4/2)、S193(4/3)、S193(4/4)以及其小型張編號S194(1/1)。


在舊系列即將結束之際,我們不但對郵票和小型張建立了新的系列號和編號,而且對其他集郵產品亦如此辦理,如:首日封、小本票、資料單張、紀念封、明信片以及與新郵票發行相關的所有郵戳、紀念郵戳以及郵展郵戳。


所有的新系列編號均以001開始並以此順序往下排列。


澳門郵電決定建立以下將詳細介紹的新編號系統出於如下兩個目的:

  • 減低編號集郵產品的偽造可能性;
  • 以簡明和有效的方式,方便集郵者隨時核對其集郵品是否成套。

至於第一個減低世界範圍內的偽造行為的目的,萬國郵政聯盟(UPU)連同世界集郵發展協會(WADP)建立了郵票編號系統(WNS)。澳門郵電於二零零二年一月一日加入了該系統,其編號被批准以 MO xxx yy 標注。其中,“MO”意為澳門郵政當局;“xxx”為自001開始編號的編號之一; “yy”則為發行年份。


一般地,印於澳門郵電集郵產品上的編號,由識別產品的字母部分(如:S、B 等)與識別順序的序號部分(如:xxx = 001、002、003等)組成。


郵票和小型張還帶有一個附加標誌(y/z)。其中,可變標記“y”意為該套郵票的總枚數;可變標記“z”意為該枚郵票在其所屬整套郵票中的具體排行序號(請參閱隨後的解釋例子)。


以下為所使用的各種編號
發行郵品(郵票) S xxx(y/z)
小型張/小全張 B xxx(y/z)
連郵票之首日封 ENA xxx
連小型張/小全張之首日封 ENB xxx
郵電局發行之紀念封 ENC xxx
其他機構發行之紀念封 ENX xxx
空白資料單張 PGL xxx
連郵票之小本票 BLK-S xxx(y/z)
連小型張之小本票 BLK-B xxx(y/z)
發行郵票之明信片 BPL xxx
郵電局發行之紀念明信片 BPC xxx
其他機構發行之紀念明信片 BPX xxx
發行郵戳、紀念郵戳或郵展郵戳 C xxx

為使集郵者和讀者更好地瞭解編號的使用方法和其意義,茲列舉如下範例:


澳門郵電之編號
編號 S216(4/1)﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第二百一十六套郵票(216),題為《中國戲曲 – 霸王別姬》,該套郵票共有四枚(4),此為第一枚(1) 。
編號 B192﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第一百九十二枚小型張(192),屬於發行《港珠澳大橋》。
編號 ENA222﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第二百二十二個連郵票之首日封(222),屬於發行《卡梅洛•庇山耶誕辰一百五十周年》。
編號 ENB196﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第一百九十六個連小型張之首日封(196),屬於發行《經典寓言故事》。
編號 PGL230﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第二百三十張資料單張(230),屬於發行《中華白海豚》。
編號 BPL220﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第二百二十二張明信片(220),屬於發行《蓮花》,題為“火炬”。
編號 C708﹕ 意為澳門特別行政區成立之後的第七百零八個郵戳(708),屬於發行《鳥語花香》。

萬國郵政聯盟和世界集郵發展協會之編號
編號 MO007.17﹕ 為澳門郵政當局在萬國郵政聯盟和世界集郵發展協會所登錄之二零一七年度第七枚郵票,屬於發行《鏡海歸帆圖》中的第一枚郵票。
編號 MO010.18﹕ 為澳門郵政當局在萬國郵政聯盟和世界集郵發展協會所登錄之二零一八年度第十枚郵票,屬於發行《澳門2018第35屆亞洲國際集郵展覽 (一)》中的小型張。

為達至發展郵票文化和透過郵票宣傳澳門的目的,澳門郵電定將繼續提高郵票和郵品在各個方面的質量,如:選材、設計以及印製技術。

english português
(function() { var cx = '012725882541276408232:mc8tqqj2kqq'; var gcse = document.createElement('script'); gcse.type = 'text/javascript'; gcse.async = true; gcse.src = 'https://cse.google.com/cse.js?cx=' + cx; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(gcse, s); })();